Company Information

Stone Federation Structure

Stone Federation GB is the national trade association for the natural stone industry. It is an unincorporated association set up to represent its members and to set high standards and promote best practise and professionalism in the natural stone industry.

▼ Executive
Stone Federation has an Executive which formulates the strategy for the Federation and meets three times per year. It is made up of the Officers and the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of each region and group/committee thus ensuring it covers all the regions and specialism's within the natural stone industry. The officers are elected (on a 2 year cycle) and form part of the Executive. All the representatives are elected at the AGM to ensure that the membership is able to reaffirm their appointments on a regular basis and that anyone wishing to put themselves forward for election has ample opportunity to do so.
▼ Officers



Immediate Past President

Honorary Treasurer


Chris Kelsey

Marcus Paine

David Richardson  

The Marble & Granite Centre

Hutton Stone Co.



▼ Group/Forum/Committee Representatives and Co-ordinators
Quarry Forum Chairman
  Michael Poultney - Albion Stone 
Quarry Forum Vice Chairman  
Marcus Paine - Hutton Stone Co
Interiors and Surface Materials Focus Group Chairman   Chris Kelsey - The Marble & Granite Centre
Interiors and Surface Materials Focus Group Vice Chairman   Steve Turner - Amarestone
Stone Heritage Chairman   Bernard Burns - Szerelmey
Landscape Forum Chairman   TBC
Scotland Deputy Chairman   Marcus Paine - Hutton Stone Co
Sustainability / Ethical Sourcing Forum Chairman   David Richardson - FMDC
StoneTrain Manager   Claire Wallbridge
Technical Committee Chairman   David Richardson - FMDC
Technical Committee Deputy Chairman   Peter Harrison - Harrison Goldman Design Consultants
Scotland Chairman   Graeme Frame - CBC Stone
London & Southern Region Chaiman   David Ellis - Sandberg LLP
Midlands & Northern Region Co-Ordinator   Nigel Stubbings - Co-opted

▼ Staff
The day to day running and management of the organisation is carried out by the staff.

Jane Buxey
Chief Executive
Matt Robb
Digital Media Executive
Sara Atkinson
Membership Administrator

Linda Town
Accounts Administrator

▼ History
In 1980 the Federation of Stone Industries and the Association of Natural Stone Industries merged to form the Stone Federation GB. Below is a list of these organisations' past Presidents.

▼ Federation of Stone Industries
1973-74 GN Wilson
1974-76 TA Germain
1976-78 J Bysouth

▼ Association of Natural Stone Industries
1974-75 J Bysouth
1976-77 ER Edwards JP
1977-78 J Hopkins
1978-79 ER Brookes MBE

In 1980 the two societies merged to form Stone Federation GB

1979-80 ER Brookes MBE
1980-81 DC Wallace
1981-82 HH Brooke
1982-83 GEC Gilbert
1983-84 WE Lowry
1984-85 JG Morgan-Jones
1985-86 DA Gregory
1986-87 RM Ogston
1987-88 DGS Jesper
1988-89 A Gasgoigne
1989-90 M Myles
1990-91 GEC Gilber t
1991-92 CJ Davidson
1992-93 AL Johnson
1993-95 CC Liddle
1995-96 CJ Tottle
1996-99 B Cobett
1999-2000 J Bysouth
2000-2002 P Harrison
2002-2004 M Moody
2004-2006 Colin Goble
2006-2008 David Richardson
2008-2010 Alex Stables
2010-2012 David Ellis
2012-2014 Iain Kennedy
2014-2016 Graeme Hadden

▼ Honorary Members
ER Brookes MBE
J Bysouth
D Jesper
B Cobbett
W Lowry
J Western